WTCR to hold 2019 season finale race at Sepang Circuit

By ahmadzulizwan, 06 December 2018

It has appeared that the Sepang Circuit has bagged another world championship series race after the World Touring Car Cup (WTCR OSCARO) announced the addition of a Malaysian round for 2019. The exact date for it to happen is yet to be determined, but it will be the season finale and all the more extra special with it being a double header with the equally-new FIM Endurance World Championship (Sepang 8 Hours).

Even more special is that one of the three races will be held at night, making the investment to install night lights by Sepang Circuit proving to be a success.

The new World Touring Car Cup schedule was announced right after yesterday’s FIA World Motor Sport Council Meeting. The championship’s calendar consists of ten venues (for a total of 30 races), with Malaysia being the last of those held in Asia starting from China, Japan, and Macau.

“We are delighted to include Sepang on the WTCR OSCARO calendar for 2019,” said François Ribeiro, Head of Eurosport Events. “Forming the deciding rounds of season two, the inaugural WTCR Race of Malaysia promises to be a very exciting addition to the schedule with the prospect of some great racing, including at night, at a venue untried by most WTCR drivers.

The FIA World Touring Car Cup takes over from World Touring Car Championship (WTCC) and had its first season this year adopting TCR regulations. This also means that there will be no ‘factory’ teams, instead manufacturers have been producing hot-hatches for private teams to use. Models that participate in WTCR races include the Honda Civic Type R TCR (FK2/FK8), Audi RS3 LMS, Hyundai i30N TCR, Peugeot 308 TCR, VW Golf GTI TCR, Alfa Romeo Giuletta TCR, and Seat Cupra TCR.

The TCR regulations used mean that all the cars are front-wheel drive, four- or five-door saloons or hatchbacks, with engines between 1,750cc-2,000cc in capacity, (single) turbocharged, and with a maximum output of 350hp.