UMWT announces new brand direction for Toyota in Malaysia

By ahmadzulizwan, 04 July 2018

UMW Toyota is changing the brand direction of Toyota in the country to meet market demands and move with the industry’s landscape. This is why they’ve rejuvenated the “All About the Drive” branding which is now led by two brand promises: to excite the daily drivers, and to deliver prominence through their products.

Naturally this will also mean that UMWT will provide more high value-added products in addition to rewarding a customer’s ownership experience.

All that sounds good and all, but the real excitement comes from the formal announcement for the start of Vios Challenge, now in its second season.

The format will be pretty much the same with three classes of racing, namely the Sporting Class, Super Sporting, and the Promotional Class that involves local celebrities. Overall champion in the latter category (Shawn Lee) will still be around although he has been ‘upgraded’ and will be racing with the rest of the semi-pro racers in the Sporting Class. His contemporaries in the Promotional Class includes a few 2017 season racers, including Diana Danielle, Janna Nick, and Syukri Yahaya.

Joining them will be a new batch of freshies including Aiman Tino, Khai Bahar, Nabila Razali, Wany Hasrita, Akim Ahmad, and Nabil Ahmad. Prior to the start of the season in August, all participants will be undergoing training at the Vios Academy, primarily to teach them about racing.

As an extension to the TGR, UMWT will also be involved in the fast-growing sport of E-Sports that has over 14 million gamers in Malaysia alone.

Sponsors for the second season of Toyota Gazoo Racing include Toyo Tyres, Denso, TRD Asia, Enkei, Moty’s, Drive M7 Energy Drinks, and Toyota Capital Services.

The first race of the Vios Challenge is scheduled in Kuala Terengganu at the Stadium Sultan Mizan Abidin from 2 August to 4 August 2018. The tour’s next stop is MAEPS from 19 to 21 October, before going to Batu Kawan Stadium, Penang on the 22-24 February 2019. The final round for the second season will be held at Sepang International Circuit from 12-14 April 2019.